Core Faculty

Tim Heckman, Ph.D.
Interim Director, Institute of Gerontology
Lisa M. Renzi-Hammond, M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Institute of Gerontology
Jenay M. Beer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Institute of Gerontology
Kerstin Gerst Emerson, Ph.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator, Institute of Gerontology
Sarah Saint Hamilton, Ph.D., MSW
Clinical Assistant Professor, Institute of Gerontology

Staff

Allison Mixon
Senior Accountant

706-542-3007

Affiliate Faculty

Grace Bagwell-Adams
Associate Professor, Department of Health Policy & Management
gbagwell@uga.edu

Andrew Carswell
Associate Professor, Department of Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics
carswell@uga.edu

Swarn Chatterjee
Associate Professor, Department of Financial Planning, Housing and Consumer Economics swarn@uga.edu

Ellen Evans
Professor, Department of Kinesiology
Director, Center for Physical Activity and Health
emevans@uga.edu

Jennifer Gay
Associate Professor, Department of Health Promotion and Behavior
jlgay@uga.edu

Billy R. Hammond
Professor, Department of Psychology
bhammond@uga.edu

Jayani Jayawardhana
Associate Professor, Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy
jayaward@uga.edu

Jung Sun Lee
Associate Professor, Department of Foods & Nutrition leejs@uga.edu

Denise C. Lewis
Associate Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Science
denise.lewis@uga.edu

Kevin K. McCully
Professor, Department of Kinesiology mccully@uga.edu

L. Stephen Miller
Professor, Department Chair
Department of Psychology
lsmiller@uga.edu

Matthew Perri III
Professor, Department of Clinical & Administrative Pharmacy
mp3@uga.edu

Mary Ellen Quinn
Associate Professor, Physiological and Technological Nursing
mquinn@gru.edu

Ye Shen
Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
yeshen@uga.edu

Phillip Tomporowski
Professor, Department of Kinesiology ptomporo@uga.edu

Tiffany Washington
Associate Professor, School of Social Work twashing@uga.edu

Kandauda K. A. S. Wickrama
Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Science/Adjunct Prof, Department of Sociology
wickrama@uga.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Anne Glass
Professor Emerita

Leonard W. Poon
Professor Emeritus, Institute of Gerontology
lpoon@uga.edu

Anne Sweaney
Professor, Department of Housing & Consumer Economics
asweeney@uga.edu

The Institute of Gerontology’s mission includes engaging affiliate members across campus to enhance research, teaching, and outreach opportunities for faculty and students. If you are interested in becoming an affiliate faculty member, please contact us at gerontology@uga.edu.